A Blog is Born

2 November 2009

hunter

 

Starting a blog.

Close your eyes, here we go. I am going to write a blog. I do not know who will read it, I do not know if I will have anything to say of value but I am going to write.

First the title, “Pure Gibberish.” I took this from the good doctor, Hunter S. Thompson. “Maybe there is no Heaven. Or maybe this is all pure gibberish—a product of the demented imagination of a lazy drunken hillbilly with a heart full of hate who has found a way to live out where the real winds blow—to sleep late, have fun, get wild, drink whisky, and drive fast on empty streets with nothing in mind except falling in love and not getting arrested . . . Res ipsa loquitur. Let the good times roll.

The incomparable Richard A. Davis, my history teacher at Roycemore, the small, private high school I attended and caused havoc, first introduced me to Hunter S. Thompson. Thompson wrote the truth, except when he made it up, which was as often as he wrote the truth. He wrote for a specific audience, his audience. Like-minded souls who would understand what he was saying because they were as stoned as he was.

My goal is to write in a Gonzo format, little editing, inserting myself whenever possible, using sarcasm, hyperbole, fact, fiction and anything else I can think of. I know that those who read this are, for the most part, like-minded. I suspect some of my conservative friends will be offended by what I have to write. Then again, they know me well enough not to be surprised by it. Those who think Dane Cook is funny will not get the jokes or the truth. Those who think Dave Matthews Band is the best thing going will not recognize a single artist I like and will be left behind.

Topics will include latest movies I have seen and you should too, or avoid, music that I like or am listening to, the trials and tribulations of my beloved Cubs who have brought me more heart-ache than joy yet I still follow them, the state of our nation and the ineptitude and follies of those in all branches of government, my running activities, theater going, that should give you an outline.

Join me in my musings on Pure Gibberish and experience my world, as I know it.

8 Responses to “A Blog is Born”

  1. larry Says:

    I went to high school with a guy named Pure Gibberish….wonder what ever happen to him…….

  2. jm Says:

    His sister got old. People only talked to him to get to her. Sad, really. Neil was always kind to both of them.

  3. larry Says:

    He was “kind” of what

  4. SSS Says:

    Prediction: On a daily basis, more people will read my t-shirt than your blog.

  5. Rodney Ho Says:

    What took you so long to join the bloggerati?

  6. GRcowboy Says:

    I may follow in your footsteps soon. Teach me well. When you step in a “cow-pile”, please mark it well. I hate repeating other peoples mistakes. So what is your opinion on the theory that the moon is brighter when seen in our hemisphere becasue our city lights are bouncing off of it and back at us?

  7. MoJo Ho Says:

    I’m digging your flow, Uncle Millman. And Hunter didn’t just speak the truth but he painted prose in Technicolor. If you write with flair, you can write about any subject and make it interesting. I look forward to checking in and reading more, kudos!!

  8. Karen Says:

    Nathan liked being mentioned TWICE in your article. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

